• HAST 15:35
  • AKDT 17:35
  • PDT 18:35
  • MDT 19:35
  • CDT 20:35
  • EDT 21:35
  • UTC 01:35

Flight Path Tool

Testimonials

"The Flight Path Tool product is unparalleled! Not even subscription-based products offered by commercial vendors have the depth and richness of this tool. Thanks for launching and maintaining such a cool product."
- Madeleine P
"One of the most well-implemented uses of the technology I've seen. I can't tell you how much easier this makes my flight planning process."
- Doug V

The Flight Path Tool (FPT) is a comprehensive, interactive, geographical display that brings together all of the weather products available on ADDS. It runs as a desktop application on your computer for maximum performance.

The Flight Path Tool can overlay multiple fields of interest: icing (probability, severity, and super-cooled large drops), turbulence potential, convective diagnosis and forecast, ceiling, visibility, flight category, winds, relative humidity, temperature, radar (base and composite reflectivity), satellite observations (visible, infra-red, and water vapor wavelengths), AIRMETs and SIGMETs, METARs, TAFs, and PIREPs.

All 3D data can be sliced horizontally at selected flight levels or vertically along a flight path. All data can be animated in time.

The tool lets you zoom in to any location on the globe. It automatically switches to the most appropriate projection for the viewed area. High-resolution basemaps show selectively more detail as you zoom in.

In addition to the vertical cross sections along your flight route, the Flight Path Tool allows you to generate meteorograms of observed and forecasted conditions for any METAR or TAF surface station.

Preferred views can be saved for quick recall later.

Features

  • All ADDS data in one place
  • 3D in space plus a time dimension
  • Full global zooming
  • Custom flight path cross sections
  • Surface station meteorograms
  • Saving of preferred views

Requirements

128.117.200.197 thrust.rap.ucar.edu thrust adds-web1